Anwar takes up Finance portfolio, Zahid, Fadillah are DPMs

PRIME Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has announced that he will take on the Finance portfolio. 

Meanwhile, UMNO president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof have been appointed deputy prime ministers.  

Zahid will also be rural development minister while Fadillah is reappointed plantations and commodities minister. 

The new cabinet will be sworn in at 3pm tomorrow. 

Here is the full list, arranged in alphabetical order: 

Ministry of Agriculture and Food Industries – Mohamad Sabu 

Ministry of Defence – Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan 

Ministry of Digital Communications – Fahmi Fadzil 

Ministry of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs – Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub 

Ministry of Education – Fadhlina Sidek 

Ministry of Finance – Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir 

Ministry of Health – Dr Zaliha Mustafa 

Ministry of Higher Education – Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin 

Ministry of Home Affairs – Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail 

Ministry of Human Resources – Sivakumar Varatharaju Naidu  

Ministry of International Trade and Industry – Datuk Seri Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz 

Ministry of Local Government – Nga Kor Ming 

Ministry of National Unity – Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang 

Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment, and Climate Change – Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad 

Ministry of Plantations and Commodities – Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof 

Ministry of Tourism – Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing 

Ministry of Transport – Anthony Loke 

Ministry of Rural Development – Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi 

Ministry of Science and Technology – Chang Lih Kang 

Ministry of Women, Family, and Community Development – Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri 

Ministry of Works – Alexander Nanta Linggi 

Ministry of Youth and Sports – Hannah Yeoh 

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) – Rafizi Ramli 

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Law and Institutional Reformation) – Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said 

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Religious Affairs) – Datuk Mohd Naim Mokhtar 

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs) – Armizan Mohd Ali 

In a televised address tonight, the Pakatan Harapan chairperson said the Cabinet would comprise 28 ministers, in 22 ministries, and four portfolios in the Prime Minister’s Department.

Pakatan Harapan has 15 ministers in the announced cabinet list, with eight from PKR, four from DAP, two from Amanah, and one from UPKO.

Meanwhile, six of the ministers are from BN, all of whom are from UMNO, while GPS has five ministers. GRS has one minister in the Cabinet.

One more minister – the Religious Affairs Minister Mohd Na’im Mokhtar – is not affiliated with any political parties. He is currently the Chief Judge of the Syariah Judiciary Department.

According to the Prime Minister’s Office, the Federal Territories minister will be announced later. – Dec 2, 2022


Main photo credit: Sadiq Asyraf/Prime Minister’s Office of Malaysia

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE