Johor Sultan to be crown as Malaysia’s 17th King

THE Conference of Rulers has announced that Johor ruler Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar of Johor will serve as the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong. Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad confirmed the decision during the 263rd meeting held at Istana Negara today.

Sultan Ibrahim’s reign is set to commence on Jan 31, 2024, marking the beginning of a five-year term as the country’s paramount ruler.

Additionally, it was declared that Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah Almarhum Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah of Perak would serve as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same period. – Oct 27, 2023




Main photo credit: Sultan Ibrahim’s Facebook

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE