Kit Siang, late Nik Aziz conferred “Tan Sri” title by Agong

LONG-TIME PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat and DAP veteran Lim Kit Siang have been conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) which carries the title “Tan Sri” by Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah in conjunction with the celebration of His Majesty’s official birthday today (June 5).

The event was held during the investiture ceremony of federal territories awards, medals, and honours in conjunction with the Agong’s official birthday celebration.

Accompanying the Agong during the ceremony at Istana Negara was Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah.

Nik Aziz, who was Kelantan menteri besar from 1990 to 2013 and passed away in Feb 2015 at the age of 84, was conferred the award posthumously.

The award was received by his wife Puan Sri Sabariah Ishak.

Veteran politician Lim Kit Siang, who retired from active politics in 2022, was the first from his party to receive the second-highest federal title.

This is following DAP’s convention for its party leaders to not accept such awards while still in office.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Johari Abdul; Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Abdul Rahman Sebli, Battersea Power Station Holding Company Limited chairman Jaganath Derek Steven Sabapathy; DRB-Hicom Berhad group managing director Syed Faisal Albar Syed A R Albar are also among those who were conferred the PSM. – June 5, 2023

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE