Malaysia’s 17th King to be elected tomorrow

THE country’s nine Rulers are set to convene a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers to elect the 17th Yang di-Pertuan Agong tomorrow (Oct 27).

An official announcement regarding the next king is anticipated shortly after Friday prayers, marking the culmination of a tradition that has been an integral part of Malaysia’s governance since its independence over six decades ago, according to news portal The Star.

The upcoming election will determine the country’s monarch for a five-year term as stipulated under the Federal Constitution, which also includes the selection of the King’s deputy.

Moreover, only the nine Rulers who are members of the Conference of Rulers can take part in the secret balloting.

The two-day meeting of the Conference of Rulers began yesterday (Oct 25) at Istana Negara, marking its 262nd session. Presided over by Johor ruler Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, the session followed a private meeting exclusively attended by the Rulers.

Historical data reveals that in the initial rotation cycle from 1957, when the office of Yang di-Pertuan Agong was established, to 1994, Negri Sembilan led the election list, followed by Selangor, Perlis, Kedah, Kelantan, Pahang, Johor and Perak.

The current Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah will conclude his term on Jan 31 next year, paving the way for the Johor ruler to assume the prestigious position of Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Meanwhile, Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah is expected to be named as the deputy, adding to the anticipation surrounding this historic event. – Oct 26, 2023


Main photo credit: Harian Metro

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE