MCA election: Wee secures presidency, party gets new leadership line-up

THE 2023 MCA party election culminated with a new leadership line-up for the party’s central committee on Sunday (Sept 24) night, with Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong securing a landslide victory to be re-elected as party president.

Wee clinched 569 electoral votes, beating his opponent Datuk Tan Chong Seng who received 11 votes.

Deputy president Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon returned unopposed.

Meanwhile, the four vice-president posts are won by incumbents Datuk Lim Ban Hong and Datuk Tan Teik Cheng, who secured 459 votes and 453 votes respectively.

They are joined by newcomers Datuk Seri Dr Wee Jeck Seng with 477 votes and Datuk Lawrence Low Ah Keong with 459 votes.

Also elected were 25 central committee members.

Yesterday, Ling Tian Soon and Wong You Fong were elected as heads of MCA Youth and Wanita MCA respectively.

Speaking at the Wisma MCA, Wee said he was grateful to be given the mandate to lead the party for the second time.

“I will do our best to raise the reputation of the party and bring it back to our former glory. It’s a big challenge but I believe with this new team we are able to achieve it,” Wee told reporters.

Wee became MCA president in November 2018 after securing a landslide victory in a three-cornered fight in the party elections.

The Ayer Hitam MP served as transport minister from March 2020 to November 2022 under former prime ministers Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob. – Sept 25, 2023


Main pic credit: Bernama

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE