Muhyiddin leads PN’s shadow Cabinet, PAS’ Hadi is deputy

PERIKATAN Nasional (PN) chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has unveiled the coalition’s shadow Cabinet, which sees the former prime minister being named the chief of PN MPs.

This is despite PN secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin being the Opposition leader in the Dewan Rakyat.

The line-up – officially known as the PN MPs portfolio committee – sees PAS president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang named as Muhyiddin’s deputy.

Bersatu vice-president and Putrajaya MP Datuk Radzi Jidin has also been given a key role to play after being appointed the shadow minister for the finance and economy portfolios, while Indera Mahkota MP Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah is tasked with handling the education and higher education portfolio.

“The Opposition’s portfolio committee is tasked to PN MPs with the skills and experience in the previous administrations who also have the right backgrounds in their respective fields,” Muhyiddin said at a press conference.

Other Bersatu MPs on the list include the party’s information chief and Tasek Gelugor MP Datuk Wan Saiful Wan Jan (communication and digital portfolio) and Bersatu Youth chief and Machang MP Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal (foreign affairs).

From PAS’ end, the party’s vice president and Bagan Serai MP Datuk Idris Ahmad is tasked with the religious affairs portfolio while PAS deputy president and Kubang Kerian MP Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man is appointed the shadow minister for the natural resources, environment and climate change portfolio.

Meanwhile, Rantau Panjang MP Datuk Siti Zailah Mohd Yusoff is tasked with handling the women, family and community development portfolio.

Here is the full list of MPs in PN’s shadow Cabinet:

Chief of PN MPs:
Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin

Deputy chief of PN MPs:
Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang

Opposition leader:
Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin

Finance and Economic Affairs:
Datuk Seri Radzi Jidin

Rural and Regional Development:
Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim

Plantation and Commodities:
Datuk Azman Nasrudin

Khairil Nizam Khirudin

Agriculture and Food Security:
Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee

Local Government Development:
Datuk Seri Dr Ismail Abd Mutallib

Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz

Datuk Che Mohamad Zulkifly Jusoh

Home Affairs:
Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan

International Trade and Industry:
Datuk Dr Ku Abdul Rahman Ku Ismail

Education and Higher Education:
Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah

Science, Innovation and Technology:
Datuk Ahmad Amzad Hashim

Women, Family and Community Development:
Datuk Siti Zailah Yusoff

Domestic Trade and Cost of Living:
Datuk Rosol Wahid

Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change:
Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man

Entrepreneur and Cooperatives Development:
Datuk Muslimin Yahaya

Foreign Affairs:
Wan Ahmad Fayshal Wan Ahmad Kamal

Tourism, Arts and Culture:
Datuk Mohd Suhaimi Abdullah

Communication and Digital:
Wan Saiful Wan Jan

National Unity:
Dr Halimah Ali

Youth and Sports:
Ahmad Fadhli Shaari

Human Resources:
Datuk Awang Hashim

Datuk Dr Ahmad Yunus Hairi

Religious Affairs:
Datuk Idris Ahmad

Law and Institutional Reform:
Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin

Sabah and Sarawak Affairs, and Special Functions:
Datuk Ali Biju

In the press conference, Muhyiddin also said a secretariat had been established for PN MPs, with a research team and experts to help them increase their knowledge and expertise in their respective fields.

“Although they are just MPs, the responsibility of helping the country to solve problems will still be shouldered by our MPs,” he added. – Feb 2, 2023


Main pic credit: FMT


Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE