Pahang by-election: Voting begins at Pelangai

A TOTAL of 16,383 registered voters in Pelangai, Pahang will go to the polls today to elect their new state assemblyperson with a total of nine polling centres and 30 channels opened at 8am.

This is the fourth by-election being held after the 15th General Election (GE15) on Nov 19 last year.

The weather in the Bentong district was forecast to be good in the morning, while thunderstorms were expected in the evening, citing the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia), according to Bernama.Three of the voting centres, namely SMK Chemomoi, SK Kemasul and SK Sungai Kemahal are in the Felda areas. Six centres are Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (Cina) (SJKC) Telemong, SMK Seri Pelangai, SK Pelangai, SKJC Manchis, Dewan Serbaguna Sungai Gapoi and Balai Raya Kampung Sungai Perdak.The Election Commission (EC) stated that it has elected 312 officers to be on duty for the voting process, which will involve 16,383 registered electors.The by-election, called for following the death of the seat’s incumbent Datuk Seri Johari Harun, in a plane crash in Bandar Elmina on Aug 17 is seeing a three-cornered fight between Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Datuk Amizar Abu Adam, Perikatan Nasional’s (PN) Kasim Samat and independent candidate Haslihelmy DM Zulhasni.In the GE15, Johari won with a majority of 4,048 votes defeating Kasim, Pakatan Harapan’s Ahmed Wafiuddin and Pejuang candidate Isa Ahmad. – Oct 7, 2023


Main photo credit: Bernama

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE