PDRM plans to form new battalions to enhance border control in Sabah, Sarawak

THE Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) plans to establish three new battalions to further strengthen border security control in Sabah and Sarawak, the Dewan Negara was told today.

Deputy Home Minister Datuk Seri Dr Shamsul Anuar Nasarah said this involves two new battalions in Sabah and one in Sarawak.

“The security control in Sabah and Sarawak, especially along the Kalimantan border, is currently at its maximum level through the deployment of 73 border control posts under the General Operations Force (GOF).

“In addition, PDRM, through GOF, continuously conducts operations such as Ops Taring, Ops Awas and Ops Batas,” he said during the question and answer session.

He was responding to a question from Senator Datuk Paul Igai on whether the government intends to revive the Border Scouts, which was renowned during the confrontation and threat of the Communist Forces of North Kalimantan.

Meanwhile, Shamsul said a retired and former police officers bill is expected to be tabled in Parliament next year.

He said the ministry’s legal officers are currently scrutinising the bill, and engagement sessions will be held early next year before it is presented to the Cabinet.

“This is our commitment to ensure proper regulations and safeguard the welfare of our former police officers at all levels,” he said. – Nov 29, 2023


Main photo credit: Bernama

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE