PKR vet Johari Abdul is new Dewan Rakyat Speaker

PKR’s Datuk Johari Abdul has been elected as the new Dewan Rakyat Speaker, taking over from Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun who officially stepped down yesterday (Dec 18).

The former Sungai Petani MP was elected following a secret ballot vote on the motion tabled by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

The 67-year-old Johari won the vote with the backing of 147 MPs while another 74 voted in favour of former Kangar MP Tan Sri Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad. The total is one short of the 222 MPs in the lower house.

FMT reported Kota Melaka MP Khoo Poay Tiong as saying that deputy economic affairs minister Datuk Hanifah Hajar Tain was absent for the vote.

However, the GPS lawmaker was present to take her oath of office as the Mukah MP.

Johari had opted out of the recent general election and vacated his Gurun state seat in Kedah as of last Tuesday.

In his maiden speech as Speaker, Johari pledged to use his experience as a former member of the diplomatic corps, businessperson, and MP to carry out his duties.

Johari also called on MPs to prioritise national interests rather than using Dewan Rakyat as a political battlefield.

He also thanks the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the formation of the new government, and voters for carrying out their responsibilities during the 15th general election. – Dec 19, 2022


Main pic credit: Sabah Media

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE