PN MPs leave allocation negotiations to opposition leader

PERIKATAN Nasional MPs from Kedah are leaving it to opposition leader Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin to negotiate with Putrajaya on allocations for PN lawmakers.

Kubang Pasu MP Datuk Dr Ku Abdul Rahman Ku Ismail of Bersatu expressed confidence in Hamzah’s negotiation skills with the leadership of the unity government.

“Of course we would welcome the allocations as it has been long overdue. It has been almost two years (since the conclusion of the 15th General Election).

“However, we are leaving it to the wisdom of the opposition leader to continue negotiating with the federal government,” a local portal quoted him as saying.

Moreover, Kuala Kedah MP Dr Ahmad Fakhruddin Fakhrurazi echoed similar sentiments, emphasising their stance as PN MPs in leaving negotiations to the opposition leader.

“Our stand is clear, as PN MPs, we are leaving it to the opposition leader to discuss with the unity government,” said Fakhruddin who is also Kedah PAS deputy commissioner but declined to elaborate.

Ku Rahman and Fakhruddin’s remarks followed Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof’s announcement that the unity government’s top leadership had agreed in principle to consider allocating funds for opposition MPs.

Fadillah mentioned that the decision was made during a meeting of the secretariat chaired by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and attended by top leaders of the unity government’s component parties.

He added that the secretariat had consented to prepare a draft memorandum of understanding to be presented to the opposition for negotiation.

Before the meeting, the secretariat had reportedly met with Hamzah, PN chief whip Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan and Bersatu vice-president Datuk Seri Ronald Kiandee to discuss the matter.

Furthermore, Hamzah welcomed the move to allocate funds to its MPs and state assemblymen.

However, he indicated that PN would decide on accepting the allocation after scrutinising the conditions imposed by the unity government.

PN comprises a total of 74 lawmakers in parliament, but six of them — all from Bersatu — have declared their support for Anwar. They include Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman, Tanjong Karang MP Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi, Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal, Jeli MP Zahari Kechik, Gua Musang MP Mohd Azizi Abu Naim and Kuala Kangsar MP Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid. – April 19, 2024

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE