Political leaders sign historic MOU backing Anwar as PM

THE leaders of five political coalitions and parties that are part of the current government have formally signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) today.

In addition to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, BN chairperson Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor, Sarawak Premier Tan Sri Abang Johari Openg and Warisan president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal were present at the signing ceremony held at the Prime Minister’s Office in Putrajaya.

The MOU was also signed by the secretaries-general of the respective parties.

(Pic credit: Sadiq Asyraf / Prime Minister’s Office of Malaysia) 

Calling it a “historic moment” in the country’s politics, Anwar said this cooperation has a clear direction in ensuring a stable government that focuses on good governance and developing the economy.

“In this memorandum, what was agreed upon was not positions or power but policies based on good governance and driving the economy in a fresh and convincing manner,” he remarked in a short press conference after the signing ceremony.

“Together with a capable team, it will enable us to face any issues within and without Parliament with one voice (that is) Malaysia’s unity government.” – Dec 16, 2022


Main pic credit: Afiq Hambali / Prime Minister’s Office of Malaysia

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE