Report: Azmin Ali is the new Selangor opposition leader

HULU Kelang assemblyman Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali has been appointed the opposition leader in Selangor, according to a Sinar Daily report.

The announcement was made by Selangor state assembly Speaker Lau Weng San at the First Meeting (Oath-taking) of the First Term of the 15th Selangor state assembly.

According to Lau, the state legislative assembly received a letter from Selangor Perikatan Nasional (PN) on Sept 15 to nominate Azmin as the opposition leader. Azmin is also the Selangor PN chairman.

“I hereby announce Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, the Hulu Kelang assemblyman as the leader of the opposition. It is hoped that the appointed leader of the opposition can carry out his responsibilities well,” he said.

In his address to the house, Lau said he hopes the new Deputy Speaker Mohd Kamri Kamaruddin, the opposition leader, and all representatives who took their oaths of office today will perform their duties diligently.

“I assure you I will be fair to all of you regardless of political ideology. And I will also ensure everyone gets their time to debate in the state assembly so the house can be used as a platform to voice out issues in the state,” he said.

Meanwhile, Azmin, speaking at a press conference after the conclusion of today’s sitting, Azmin announced Selangor PN’s portfolio holders who will serve as a shadow executive council to the state administration.

They are:

  • Finance, Economy, Land and Natural Resource: Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali (Hulu Kelang);
  • Education and Human Resources: Datuk Dr Halim Tamuri (Paya Jaras);
  • Local Government, Housing and Infrastructure: Datuk Seri Jamil Salleh (Dengkil);
  • Health, Environment and Climate Change: Dr Afif Bahardin (Taman Medan);
  • Science, Technology, Innovation, Communications and Digital Industry: Muhammad Muhaimin Harith Abdullah Sani (Batang Kali);
  • Youth and Sports: Muhammad Hilman Idham (Gombak Setia);
  • Islamic Affairs and Rural Development: Nushi Mahfodz (Semenyih);
  • Women, Family, Welfare and Unity: Nurul Syazwani Noh (Permatang);
  • Agriculture and Agro-food Industry: Sallehen Mukhyi (Sabak); and
  • Tourism and Malay Heritage Culture: Datuk Noorazley Yahya (Bukit Melawati).

In the state election on Aug 12, Pakatan Harapan won 32 seats while its ally Barisan Nasional captured two others. PN, comprising Bersatu and PAS, won the remaining 22 seats. – Sept 19, 2023


Main pic credit: Selangor Journal

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE