Report: Expect cabinet reshuffle tomorrow with several big names included, say sources

PRIME Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is expected to announce a cabinet reshuffle tomorrow (Oct 4), with the unity government merely eleven months old since its formation in November last year.

Speaking to Getaran, sources close to Putrajaya said that the important announcement is expected to be made after the post-cabinet meeting before Anwar leaves for an official visit to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) this Thursday (Oct 5).

“Previously, some said it would just be some small ‘changes’ but from the information I got, it is going to be a major overhaul,” the sources were quoted as saying.

According to the sources, the move will involve several portfolios and major ministries, including the Home Ministry, the Human Resources Ministry, the Health Ministry and the Youth and Sports Ministry.

“At tomorrow’s announcement, the PM is also expected to name a successor to the domestic trade and costs of living minister, the late Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub,” the sources said.

Sources also drew attention to two full ministerial portfolios which may be given to MCA president Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong and MIC deputy president Datuk Seri M. Saravanan.

“Wee has just retained the (MCA) presidency while Anwar’s recent presence at the MIC headquarters may well indicate the ‘return’ of MIC in the cabinet,” the sources added.

Yesterday (Oct 2), a source told FMT that MCA and MIC lawmakers could find themselves appointed as ministers in the anticipated Cabinet reshuffle.

Speaking to FMT, a source shared that a “high-level” meeting was held recently to discuss the appointment of representatives from Barisan Nasional’s (BN) component parties.

“We will wait until Anwar announces the reshuffle because anything can happen, as in the Cabinet announcement last December,” the source was quoted as saying.

BN is presently only represented by UMNO and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) in the unity government’s Cabinet following the 15th general election (GE15).

MCA has two MPs, namely Ayer Hitam MP Wee and Tanjung Piai MP Datuk Seri Wee Jeck Seng while MIC has Saravanan, who is also Tapah MP.

PBRS has one MP in the Cabinet, namely party president Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup.

Getaran was told that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi’s name as well as that of Health Minister Dr Zaliha Mustafa are among those mentioned as being listed in the reshuffle.

This marks the first cabinet reshuffle announced by the unity government since taking over federal power on Nov 24 last year, following the 15th General Election (GE15), which resulted in a hung parliament. – Oct 3, 2023


Main pic credit: Malay Mail

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE