Report: “Govt not confident of support from MPs within own coalition,” alleges Bersatu leader

THERE is a concerted effort from the government bloc to woo MPs from Bersatu into defecting because the government was not confident of the support of MPs in its coalition, claimed a Bersatu leader.

Bersatu Youth chief Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal said this amid reports that four to five more MPs from the party will be declaring their support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and the unity government.

FMT reported the Machang MP as saying that Bersatu will work to ensure no more of its MPs declare their support for the unity government, adding: “But we shall see later.”

“Such scheming will always be there because the current government itself is not assured of support from their MPs within their bloc. So, in order to weaken the opposition, they have to continue doing this,” he told the news portal on Thursday (Nov 30).

“It’s not surprising that they’re playing a psywar (psychological warfare) with us, claiming more (MPs) are going to support the unity government.”

Wan Fayhsal was commenting on a Sin Chew Daily report that four to five more Bersatu MPs will pledge their support for Anwar.

According to the Chinese daily’s source, these MPs come from Kedah, Perak and Terengganu.

So far five Bersatu lawmakers had pledged their support for the unity government: Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal, Jeli MP Zahari Kechik, Gua Musang MP Datuk Mohd Azizi Abu Naim, Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman and Kuala Kangsar MP Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid.

Sin Chew Daily further reported that according to a political leader who preferred to remain anonymous, there is now a force attempting to persuade Bersatu MPs to support the unity government, with more expected to switch sides soon.

The source also said these MPs would cross over once the timing is right, mainly for their own defence against possible lawsuits, adding that it is believed that there would be nine or ten in the end.

Bersatu won a total of 31 parliamentary seats in last year’s 15th general election (GE15). – Nov 30, 2023


Main pic credit: Facebook/Wan Ahmad Fayhsal

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE