Report: No contest for top 5 post in PAS party polls

PAS president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang and four others in the Islamist party’s central leadership line-up will retain their positions in the forthcoming election for the 2023–2025 term, said Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan.

The PAS secretary-general said elections will only be held for its 18 central committee posts.

“No new nominations have been (received) for our top five posts and only the current president and deputy president have been nominated.

“Four nominations for the three vice presidents’ posts have been received including Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Muhammad Sanusi Md Nor but he withdrew, so there is no competition and the (current) line-up will be retained,” he said during a press conference at PAS headquarters in Kuala Lumpur today (Sept 29).

Hadi and deputy Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man were also unchallenged in the party elections in Terengganu two years ago. Hadi has held the president’s post since 2002 while Tuan Ibrahim was elected in 2015.

Currently, the three vice presidents are Terengganu Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar, Datuk Idris Ahmad and Datuk Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah.

PAS’ main general assembly with an expected attendance of 1,400 central delegates will be held at Ideal Convention Centre, Shah Alam, from Oct 20 to 22.

Takiyuddin said elections and general assemblies of PAS Youth and PAS Women will be held at the same venue on Oct 18 and 19, while its non-Muslim and veterans wings will also hold their separate conventions earlier in the same week.

The election results will be announced on Oct 22. – Sept 29, 2023


Main pic credit: NST

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE