ROS approves changes to Bersatu constitution amendments

THE Registrar of Societies (ROS) has approved Bersatu’s proposed amendments to the party’s constitution that could force six of its MPs who have voiced support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to vacate their seats.

Taking to social media to make the announcement, Bersatu Youth chief Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal said the next step will be to vacate the seats of the six MPs and make way for parliamentary by-elections.

“Alhamdulillah ROS have approved an application to amend Bersatu’s constitution that will allow us to vacate the seats held by six MPs who support Anwar,” the Machang MP said.

“The next step will be to vacate their seats and make way for parliamentary by-elections.”

Wan Fayhsal also shared a copy of a ROS circular dated April 1, notifying the party of approval given to the amendments passed at an extraordinary general meeting last month.

The amendment to Article 10 of Bersatu’s constitution stipulates matters of resignation and dismissal of party members.

Under the approved amendment, any Bersatu elected representative who defected from the party would automatically cease to be a member of the party.

In doing so, the defectors will also trigger the anti-hopping law per Article 49A of the Federal Constitution and their seats will be vacated.

The six Bersatu MPs who had declared their support for the unity government are Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Datuk Dr Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang) and Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar). – April 2024


Main pic credit: Sinar Harian

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE