“Why must I resign as I’m merely following your footsteps,” Bukit Gantang MP tells Hamzah

BUKIT Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal has refused to resign as a MP despite calls from Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin.

The former UMNO politician (left the party in 2018) countered that he was simply following the footsteps of Hamzah who resisted calls to relinquish his Larut parliamentary seat when he switched from UMNO to Bersatu in 2019.

“As this matter has occurred before involving Hamzah, what is then his logic in urging me to resign? He did the same but did not resign despite calls from UMNO,” Syed Abu Hussin was quoted as saying by Free Malaysia Today (FMT). “Thus, I’m adopting the same stance by observing past events as a guideline.”

Syed Abu Hussin further pointed out that he was not leaving the party because he merely supported Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and that Hamzah should not be hypocritical.

“He (Hamzah) should be consistent and act gentlemanly,” he rebutted.

Earlier today (Dec 21), FMT reported that Hamzah who is also Perikatan Nasional (PN) secretary-general has urged Syed Abu Hussin to resign following the latter’s move to throw his support behind the unity government.

“If he really is as great as has been said, he should be willing to resign and prove that the people will stay with him,” Hamzah told news portal Malaysia Gazette’s Skop MG programme.

“Bersatu had not fired the MP because it did not want to give him the chance to become a free agent. Re-contest and we’ll see if the people’s mandate is with him or PN.

Five Bersatu MPs who have pledged their support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

“We want to pressure him. Other people who have left the party like Gua Musang (Datuk Mohd Azizi Abu Naim) have not said as much as he has. Bukit Gantang (Syed Abu Hussin) talks a big game,” Hamzah said.

Syed Abu Hussin became the fifth MP from PN to pledge their support for Anwar’s leadership during the PM’s Question Time (PMQT) session at the Dewan Rakyat on Nov 28.

He now joins Kuala Kangsar MP Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid, Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman, Gua Musang MP Datuk Mohd Azizi Abu Naim and Jeli MP Zahari Kechik in backing Anwar.

On Feb 12, 2019, Hamzah and six former UMNO leaders joined Bersatu after the former was hammered in the 14th General Election (GE14).

The now Opposition leader was joined by Tanah Merah MP Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz, Hulu Terengganu MP Datuk Rosol Wahid, Masjid Tanah MP Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, former Mersing MP Datuk Dr Abd Latiff Ahmad, former Sabak Bernam MP Datuk Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh and former Tasek Gelugor MP Datuk Shahbudin Yahya. – Dec 21, 2023

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE