“No more Bersatu MPs will support unity govt,” insists Bersatu information chief

BERSATU information chief Datuk Razali Idris is confident that no more MPs from the party will throw their support behind Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and the unity government.

Razali, who is also the Kijal assemblyman, claimed that some parties had tried to bring up the issue solely to create an uncomfortable atmosphere.

“I am confident that there will be no more betrayal of BERSATU as there was with the previous five MPs.

“Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal doesn’t need to associate others. Be a man, accept my challenge to resign and vacate your Parliamentary seat,” Razali was quoted as saying by Berita Harian today (Dec 11).

Razali was commenting on Syed Abu Hussin’s statement earlier today that there will be at least another seven or eight Perikatan Nasional (PN) MP who will declare their support for Anwar’s unity government.

“For now, I can’t reveal their names yet. Just wait and see, there will be announcements from those (MPs) who support the Madani government. God willing, soon.

“The PN MPs are from several states, all of them are from Malay majority areas.

“Some have contacted me, some have contacted others,” Syed Abu Hussin was quoted as saying by Sinar Harian today (Dec 11).

According to Syed Abu Hussin, due to PN leaders’ reluctance to negotiate with the unity government over constituency allocations, a growing number of PN MPs are now willing to support Anwar.

On this matter, Razali went on to say that for the time being, the party will only impose disciplinary action on those who declare their support for the unity government.

“We’ve only taken disciplinary action so far,” he said when asked if Bersatu would sue the five MPs.

Syed Abu Hussin became the fifth MP from PN to pledge their support for Anwar’s leadership during the Prime Minister’s Question Time (PMQT) session at Dewan Rakyat on Nov 28.

Syed Abu Hussin now joins Kuala Kangsar MP Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid, Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman, Gua Musang MP Datuk Mohd Azizi Abu Naim and Jeli MP Zahari Kechik in backing Anwar. – Dec 11, 2023


Main pic credit: Astro Awani

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE