Rafizi: “Not all PKR MPs involved in Sheraton Move signed bond”

PKR deputy president Rafizi Ramli has clarified that some of the MPs who left PKR in the Sheraton Move did not sign a bond with the party.

The Pandan MP said he has yet to check with PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail but as far as he could remember, there were some who signed a bond while others had refused to do so.

“At the time, the group was led by Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali and he himself did not want to sign the bond as far as I can remember. So I am not sure how many of the 10 signed,” Rafizi told reporters after the 12th Malaysia Plan (12MP) midterm review engagement session today (June 27).

“Whether the court decision mean those who did not put down their signature could also be sued, I am not sure.

“PKR lawyer William Leong will give his views to the party later on what the next action or move should be, whether the court’s decision means that even those who did not sign can be sued or not, that is beyond my knowledge,” Rafizi said.

After the Kuala Lumpur High Court ordered Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin to pay RM10 mil to the party last Friday (June 23) for breaching a bond that she had signed following her involvement in the infamous political move in 2020, Saifuddin said PKR will continue its legal action against 10 former MPs who violated the terms of the party’s binding bond.

After the ruling, Zuraida said the fight was not over and the former Ampang MP would appeal the decision.

Saifuddin had filed the lawsuit against Zuraida on behalf of PKR in October 2020 through Messrs William Leong & Co claiming that Zuraida had breached the contractual bond by joining Bersatu following the Sheraton Move in late February 2020.

PKR invoked Section 71 of the Contracts Act 1950 to establish its right to compensation from Zuraida’s advantages as Ampang MP and minister.

Apart from Azmin and Zuraida, the other nine former PKR MPs who will be sued are Indera Mahkota MP Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah, Saratok MP Datuk Ali Biju, Ranau MP Datuk Jonathan Yasin, Puncak Borneo MP Datuk Willie Mongin, former Bandar Tun Razak MP Datuk Kamaruddin Jaffar, former Nibong Tebal MP Datuk Mansor Othman, former Batu Pahat MP Datuk Rashid Hasnon, former Segamat MP Datuk Seri Dr Edmund Santhara Kumar, and former Selangau MP Baru Bian. – June 27, 2023


Main pic credit: Bernama

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE