Covid-19: Five chief ministers not invited for PM’s special meeting

THE Menteris Besar (MBs) of Selangor, Kedah and Negeri Sembilan, along with the Chief Ministers (CMs) of Sabah and Penang, were not invited to attend Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s special meeting on the Interstate Movement Control Order earlier today, said Pakatan Harapan (PH) via a media statement.

Muhyiddin had apparently invited all other MBs and CMs to the meeting. PH expressed their regret over the actions of Putrajaya of not inviting the state leaders of the five states mentioned.

“If this is because those state leaders are of a different political direction from the current federal government, then this will be a detriment to the rakyat,” read the statement, further noting that the five aforementioned states make up almost 40% of the population of Malaysia, with high numbers of Covid-19 in those states as well.

“These actions to control the Covid-19 epidemic that does not account for portions of the country is doomed to failure,” the statement further reads.

PH also urged Putrajaya to immediately call a meeting with the five state leaders, “for the benefit and safety” of the people of those states.

A ban on interstate travel takes effect from midnight tonight, to begin at the same time as the Movement Control Order (MCO). The inspector-general of police, Abdul Hamid Bador, says that this ban is part of the MCO. – March 17, 2020

Related posts:

Covid-19: What the MCO means

Covid-19: NSC issues first FAQ on MCO

Covid-19: Essential financial services to continue operating

Covid-19: Interstate travel restriction reinstated

Covid-19: Implications of MCO on deals and companies

Covid-19: Can GrabFood, FoodPanda lower delivery charges?

Subscribe and get top news delivered to your Inbox everyday for FREE